avatar

New Online BMV Services and Graduated Driver's License Begin

Written by admin. Posted in Uncategorized

Published on July 14, 2010 with No Comments

Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) customers will have more services available online.  Andy Miller, BMV Commissioner, noted that most of these changes are the result of new laws passed by the Indiana General Assembly in the 2009 and 2010 sessions.

Miller commented, “Our Customer Choices initiative is focused on finding ways to provide BMV services to our customers without requiring them to visit a license branch. By moving simple transactions, like annual registration/ license plate renewals, out of the branch, the branch staff can better serve those who must visit the branch for more complex transactions.”

“The myBMV.com website has been a very successful part of our Customer Choice initiative.  We are pleased that the Indiana General Assembly supported our efforts by increasing the number of services available through a personal account on the myBMV.com website.  Last year there were 4 million visits to the myBMV.com website and 1.1 million customers have established personal myBMV.com accounts.”

New Online Services – Duplicate driver’s license and ID card – Customers may apply online for a duplicate driver’s license or ID card under these conditions:

  • Have valid, unexpired Indiana driver’s license or ID card.
  • Be a United States citizen.
  • Can verify the full name, date of birth, Social Security number and legal address on the credential.
  • No changes in name, address or other information since the issuance or previous renewal.
  • Be under age 70 for driver’s license.
  • Have previous photo on file.
  • Cannot require any written testing or medical reports.
  • Cannot be for a public passenger chauffeur license or a Commercial Driver’s License.
  • No more than two duplicates can be issued online within the validity period of the driver’s license or ID card.

Driver’s license and ID card renewal – Customers may renew a driver’s license or ID card with following restrictions:

  • Hold a valid driver’s license or ID card.
  • Are a United States citizen.
  • Make no changes in name, address or other information.
  • Require no testing.
  • Are under age 70.
  • Have previous photo on file.
  • Are within 12 months of renewal date, but not closer than 14 days.
  • Renewed license or ID is not a SecureID credential, unless credential being renewed is already a SecureID driver’s license or ID card.

Drive test scheduling for any license branch.

Graduated Driver’s License – Learner’s Permit and Probationary Driver’s License

(A probationary license is a driver’s license issued to an individual under the age of 18)

The new laws impact the age and holding period for the learner’s permit and probationary driver’s license as follows:

  • You must be 15 years and 180 days old to apply for a learner’s permit with a Driver Education Restriction.  The driver must have a valid Certificate of Driver Education Enrollment form and may not begin classroom or behind the wheel training before this time.  You must be 16 years and 180 days old to apply for a probationary driver’s License after successful completion of a driver education course. a driver education class. You must be 16 years of age before applying for a learner’s permit.
  • If you have not completed a driver education course, you must be 16 years and 270 days old to apply for a probationary driver’s license.
  • With or without a driver education course, you must have 50 hours of supervised practice driving with a licensed instructor or a licensed driver at least 25 years old or a spouse who is at least 21 years old to apply for a driver’s license.   At least 10 hours must be nighttime driving. 

Miller noted, “After July 1, the law requires all applicants for a learner’s permit or a driver’s license to comply with the new age regulations, including those who had obtained a learner’s permit before July 1.”  For example, if an individual holds a valid learner’s permit prior to July 1, completes driver’s education, but does not turn 16 until after July 1, then that individual must comply with the new law requiring him to wait 180 days after his 16th birthday.”

More information about all of the new services and changes in licensing procedures is available at myBMV.com or by calling the BMV Customer Service Center at 888-myBMV-411 (888-692-6841).

Be Sociable, Share!

Share This Article

About admin

avatar

Browse Archived Articles by

No Comments

Comments for New Online BMV Services and Graduated Driver's License Begin are now closed.