Hundreds of Indiana Students Recognized as National Merit Semifinalists

Written by ryan. Posted in Uncategorized


Published on October 06, 2010 with No Comments

This Indiana Department of Education released the names of students from across the state who were recognized as semifinalists in the 2011 National Merit Scholarship Program (NMSP). These Hoosier students are among 16,000 semifinalists nationwide who are competing for 8,400 National Merit Scholarships that will be awarded next spring.

“Congratulations to each of these young men and women for earning the honor of being named National Merit Semifinalists,” Superintendent of Public Instruction Tony Bennett said.
“These students have worked hard throughout their academic careers and are now making final preparations for college and post-secondary success, and I believe they serve as excellent examples to other students.”
High school seniors from over 100 Indiana high schools were selected based on their scores on the 2009 Preliminary SAT and National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test. To move on to the next round, the semifinalists must fulfill several requirements set forth by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation. The Hoosier students in this semifinalist group were selected from approximately 1.5 million juniors in over 22,000 high schools across the United States.

“As the Indiana Department of Education continues to its efforts to foster academic success, we must also continue to challenge students in new and innovative ways so they have the opportunity to achieve this level of excellence,” Bennett added.

Students will receive the scholarship in the spring of 2011. If selected for a National Merit Scholarship, students could receive one of three scholarships available. Nationally, more than 275,000 young people have been named Merit Scholars.

For more information on the 2011 NMSP, visit

National Merit Semifinalists from the area include:
– Chesterton High School: Tom Biel, Ryan Gorman, Brian Mabry and Kirsten Markey
– Valparaiso home schooled: Dan Fortney
– Valparaiso High School: Ingrid Adams, Joshua Bartusch, Elizabeth Fink and Aumer Shughoury
– Portage High School: Abigail Clark

Names were taken from

Share This Article

About ryan

Browse Archived Articles by

No Comments

Comments for Hundreds of Indiana Students Recognized as National Merit Semifinalists are now closed.