Porter Township schools chiief named District I Superintendent of the Year

Written by Chronicle Staff. Posted in Community News & People in the News

Published on September 25, 2019 with No Comments

Dr. Stacey Schmidt, superintendent of Porter Township School Corporation, was chosen by members of the Indiana Association of Public School Superintendents as the 2020 District I Superintendent of the Year. 

Winners are selected by other superintendents in their district who consider the qualifications and accomplishments of area colleagues and their instructional leadership during a time of limited resources.

Before becoming Porter Township School Corp. superintendent in 2012, Schmidt served as an assistant principal, principal and assistant superintendent in Valparaiso Community Schools.

Porter Township School Corp. is among the 20 lowest funded school districts in the state, forcing the district to be creative with its use of funds. When the state reduced funding in 2012, the staff decided to reduce compensation to save positions, then went without increases for several years.

Instructionally, the district has moved to a digital learning environment and has created and curated curriculum, reducing expenditures for materials, paper and copying. To maximize teacher resources, the district now offers blended classroom learning and online courses.

The district has also entered into a guaranteed savings partnership to replace HVAC equipment, roofs, lighting and control systems to save on energy costs. The district will soon launch a solar energy project in two buildings to save even more.

Schmidt is a graduate of Olivet Nazarene University and earned her master’s degree and Ph.D. from Purdue University.  She serves on the Olivet Nazarene University board of trustees and is a member of the Early Childhood Advisory Panel for Purdue University Northwest.

IAPSS District I includes Fulton, Jasper, Lake, LaPorte, Marshall, Newton, Porter, Pulaski and Starke counties.



Share This Article

About Chronicle Staff

Browse Archived Articles by

No Comments

Comments for Porter Township schools chiief named District I Superintendent of the Year are now closed.