Charbonneau honored as 2019 Aim Legislator of the Year

Written by Chronicle Staff. Posted in Community News & People in the News

Published on October 22, 2019 with No Comments

State Sen. Ed Charbonneau (R-Valparaiso)

State Sen. Ed Charbonneau (R-Valparaiso) is being honored as a 2019 Aim Legislator of the Year for his leadership on water infrastructure issues.

The Aim Board of Directors chose Sen. Charbonneau for this honor for being an ally of local government. During the 2019 legislative session, Sen. Charbonneau championed Senate Enrolled Act 4 that represented a monumental step forward in addressing water infrastructure needs across the state. He also worked hand in hand with Aim on Senate Enrolled Act 582, which contained an important clarification regarding stormwater fees.

“It’s my honor to thank Sen. Charbonneau for his commitment to Indiana’s cities and towns, and his support of the role our municipalities play in ensuring a strong Hoosier state,” Aim CEO Matt Greller said. “Sen. Charbonneau has been a leader on water infrastructure issues. Across the state, city and town leaders are hard at work modernizing their water infrastructure to serve constituents as effectively as possible and clearing the way for economic development. Sen. Charbonneau’s dedication to assisting local governments on this vital issue is extremely appreciated.”

“Creating a long-term water system plan for our state is essential to ensuring Hoosiers continue to have access to clean, safe and affordable water, and I believe the legislation passed this session is a great step in achieving this goal,” Charbonneau said. “I am honored to have my work recognized by Aim, and I will continue to advocate for legislation that assures the well-being of all Hoosiers and addresses the challenges facing the waters of Indiana.”

Charbonneau co-chaired the Indiana General Assembly’s Water Infrastructure Task Force and is on several key legislative committees, including chairing the Senate Committee on Health and Provider Services. Aim presented Charbonneau with his award during a municipal utility conference on Oct. 8 in Zionsville, where he served as a speaker.

State Rep. Mike Karickhoff (R-Kokomo) also was selected as an Aim Legislator of the Year for his work to improve government efficiency.  

Since the 1890s, Aim, formerly the Indiana Association of Cities and Towns, has been an advocate for Indiana municipalities.

Share This Article

About Chronicle Staff

Browse Archived Articles by

No Comments

Comments for Charbonneau honored as 2019 Aim Legislator of the Year are now closed.