Recipient of 2020 Nursing Excellence Award

Written by Chronicle Staff. Posted in Community News & People in the News

Published on November 04, 2020 with No Comments

Lynn Kowert, RN

Northwest Health-Porter has announced that Lynn Kowert, a registered nurse and critical care nurse, is the recipient of its 2020 Nursing Excellence Award.

This peer-nominated award, created in honor of 2020 being the “Year of the Nurse” and in recognition of the critical role nurses have played in treating patients throughout the COVID pandemic, was open to qualifying RNs and LPNs working in a direct patient care position who consistently demonstrate characteristics synonymous with nursing excellence.

Kowert was chosen from among more than 15 nominations for her outstanding contributions in the areas of quality, kindness and education of intensive care staff.

“Northwest Health – Porter is fortunate to have many outstanding nurses like Lynn Kowert among its ranks. Nurses who know the importance of exemplary care and compassion, who understand the importance of teamwork and mentoring others, who can step in during times of crises, and who are true champions of our entire nursing team,” said Sean Dardeau, market CEO of Northwest Health.  “With so much focus this year on the selfless efforts of caregivers like Lynn, we are pleased to acknowledge the important contributions of our nursing professionals.”

Kowert joined Northwest Health-Porter in 1979 and since that time has served as a bedside nurse, a charge nurse, a supervisor and an administrative supervisor before becoming the Intensive Care Unit educator.  She has received her critical care nursing Certification and is a member of the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses.

In addition to receiving the Nursing Excellence Award, Kowert received a cash prize and a book on nursing written by Florence Nightingale in 1859 that remains relevant to today’s modern nursing attitudes and skills.


Share This Article

About Chronicle Staff

Browse Archived Articles by

No Comments

Comments for Recipient of 2020 Nursing Excellence Award are now closed.